forum

New, but something I noticed...

posted
Total Posts
Topic Starter
valience_old
Hello here. I'm new to the whole Osu! thing, and I think the project is a spiffy idea. I've played EBA1 and have beaten all but the last few songs on Hard Rock. So please don't think it's just I lack all skill with rhythm games when I say the following.

The difficulty ratings for most of the beatmaps I've downloaded is way off. Easy songs with beatmaps like something you'd see on Sweatin', Hard with things that are so crazy I haven't yet seen them in EBA... I realize part of this might be me getting used to using a mouse and keyboard, but even just watching the beatmaps and not trying to play then, they are of a higher caliber than what most of them claim.

I realize that the game is geared mostly for people who have played and enjoy the EBA/Ouendan series, but for the few people who simply like rhythm games, the jacked up difficulty will likely be a big turnoff. "Not able to beat most songs on easy? Well, apparently this game just isn't for you..." I also realize that there is little if anything I can do to change this, short of making my own beatmaps and asking the creators of others to try and rate their maps against the games difficulty settings. So, I figure I'll ask first and then try making some maps later once storyboarding is out.

So, here is my question/suggestion/comment to all people involved with Osu!
When deciding on the difficulty for your beatmap, please take the difficulty of the original games into account.

This should help people who are just coming over from the games to better find a song in their difficulty range, as well as make the difficulty slightly more standardized, since it seems to jump all over for a given level.

Also, if a post like this has been posted before, and I simply missed it while looking through the forums, please point me in the direction of it so I can add my opinion to it ^^
Saturos